Autumn Activities for the Little People

squashes-pumpkinsStruggling for ideas to entertain the family now that summer has packed its bag and headed south? Here are some of the things we’ll be getting up to and I’ve also thrown in some additional suggestions to keep your sprogs smiling through to bonfire night.

Harvest Festival Party |It’s been months since everybody managed to get together from our NCT group.  Thankfully we were all available for this coming weekend and we’ll be meeting up at one of the other couple’s home to celebrate all the babies turning 1 (wait, can I still call them babies after turning 1?).  Since every children’s party should have a theme, we’ve decided to turn the belated birthday bash into a mini harvest festival.  We’re each going to bring an autumn themed dish so the hosts aren’t lumbered with all the catering as well as the tidying up! I’m yet to decide what we’re going to take but I expect it will have some type of squash in it.  With regards to costumes I had considered dressing up ‘Pops’ (my little one) as a pumpkin but she’s so petite I’m not sure she’d look quite right.  Perhaps a corn on the cob would be more appropriate? Does anybody have any other ideas for Harvest Festival themed fancy dress suitable for a very petite 1 year old?

Conker, Autumn Leaves and Pine Cone Collecting | Last weekend we looked after our two nephews (5 years and 18 months).  We decided to head out first thing with them to the local park thinking that it would be the best place to run off some energy.  I took a carrier bag along with us and once we’d done all the sliding down slides, swinging on swings and see-sawing on the see-saw the kids wanted, we headed to the edge of the park and filled the bag with all the conkers we could find.  The two little ones were more interested in the pine cone collecting which is probably just as well since I’ve heard that conkers are poisonous and A-pops still puts everything in her mouth! I now have several pots dotted around the house filled with pine cones and my eldest nephew has a pretty impressive conker collection.  You could also collect a bunch of autumn leaves and use them to make an autumn picture or display once you’re home if you’re feeling creative.

Squash and Pumpkin Festival | This year we’ll be going to The Squash and Pumpkin Festival at Hardwick Estate, Whitchurch on Thames.  We went last year and had a brilliant day. This year it sounds like they are planning on pretty much the same kind of family fun.  They’ve promised a farmers market, craft activities, local food, licensed bar, children’s entertainment, live music and a carved pumpkin competition.  Who said festivals were just for the summer? If you’re local I’d recommend you check it out.

Halloween Party | There’s no way I could do a run-down of family activities for October and not include a Halloween party.  I’m yet to actually decide what we’re doing for Halloween but it’s sure to involve dressing up and Halloween themed food! Last year there was a Macmillan coffee morning around Halloween, is that happening this year?  I think perhaps I’ll just throw one anyway? Any excuse to dress the kids up and eat cake, right?  I’m also planning on decorating the house this year so look out for a future Halloween themed decorations post.

Parent Visits and Sunday Lunches | As I mentioned in my Autumn post when the weather turns it really makes me crave a roast dinner. It’s been ages since I had a roast at my mum and dad’s so I think I’ll be dropping heavy hints next time we speak about heading over to theirs one Sunday for lunch.  They’re unlikely to say no if it means getting a visit from their only favourite grandchild.

National trust | Check out your local National Trust venue for Harvest Festival or Halloween themed events.

And for when the weather is rubbish…

Movie time | The plus side of those earlier dark nights is that when you close the curtains it is actually dark inside now!  Draw those curtains, pop that popcorn (or rice cakes for younger children) and stick on a movie if you have children who are able sit still throughout a whole film.

Baking | I’m a Great British Bake Off fan ok? It’s great and I’m actually a bit sad that this week it’s the last one.  I’ve recently dug my Hummingbird Bakery cook book out and started baking again so Mr G and I have something to feast on whilst we watch the show every Wednesday night.  Yes we’re THAT rock and roll.  Over the next few weeks I’m planning on trying my hand at baking with pumpkin.  Expect pictures of pumpkin pie and pumpkin cupcakes on my Instagram very soon!

I’d love to hear about any other ideas for family days out or activities for October, please drop me a comment…

Leave a Reply

